The Rolls Building Art and Education Trust  ( RBAET )


Geoffrey Bond OBE DL LLD FSA 

Directors and Trustees

The Hon Dame Sarah Asplin DBE

The Hon Sir Colin Birss
The Hon Sir Peter Coulson

Stephen Fash MA

The Hon Sir Julian Flaux 

The Rt Hon Sir Christopher Floyd

The Rt Hon Dame Elizabeth Gloster DBE

Bruce Harris FCIArb

Simon Readhead QC


Stephen Fash MA

Honorary Treasurer

Michael Cooper MA FCA

 Biographical notes:

Geoffrey Bond is a retired lawyer who has a longstanding and wide ranging interest in the arts and heritage. He was one of the original experts on the Antiques Roadshow and has lectured and written extensively on heritage.  Amongst his many offices he has been  Chair of MLA (Museums, Libraries & Archives) London and of GEM (Group for Education in Museums),  Sheriff of the City of London 2003/4, Chairman of the Treasures of the Livery Companies Exhibition 2012, Founder of the Lord Mayor of London’s Cultural Scholarship Scheme for young people and  Deputy Chairman of the Galleries of Justice (incorporating the Museum of Law and the National Centre for Citizenship and the Law).

Sir Peter Coulson, Sir Christopher Floyd and Dame Elizabeth Gloster are the founding judicial members of the RBAET and represent each of the jurisdictions that sit at the Rolls Building – the Technology & Construction Court, the Chancery Division and the Admiralty and Commercial Court. Sir Christopher Floyd and Dame Elizabeth Gloster were appointed to the Court of Appeal in May 2013. Dame Sarah Asplin, who sits in the Chancery Division, was appointed as a Director and Trustee in July 2013. Sir Colin Birss, who also sits in the Chancery Division, developed the case study for the RBAET educational programme and, together with Dame Sarah Asplin, conducts Q&A sessions for students attending the programme. He was appointed as a Director and Trustee in March 2015. Sir Julian Flaux was appointed as a Director and Trustee in February 2016; he was Judge in Charge of the Commercial Court from July 2014 to December 2015.

Bruce Harris has been a commercial and maritime arbitrator for over 30 years, and has been Chairman of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators as well as President of the London Maritime Arbitrators Association.

Simon Readhead Q.C. is a trustee of the Permanent Exhibition of Judicial and Legal Costume in the Royal Courts of Justice and is involved with a number of legal education programmes which encourage and support academically able students from non-privileged backgrounds who are interested in a career in the law.

Stephen Fash retired from Her Majesty’s Courts & Tribunals Service in December 2011. He was Director of the High Court at the Royal Courts of Justice from 2007 – 2011. In that capacity he was instrumental in establishing the RBAET and has served as its Secretary since its inception. He was appointed as a Director and Trustee in October 2014. He is a Panel Chair for the Judicial Appointments Commission and for the Health & Care Professions Council Conduct & Competence Committee.